Nasa releases new launcher green light




The U.S. space agency Nasa has plans for the development and construction of a new launch vehicle approved. The Space Launch System rocket should be. Around 2017 for the first time launched

With the approval , however, the design of the Space Launch System rocket, known as the SLS rocket, the bullet is not final by the church. The design has been adopted but can be started for the construction needs to be demolished the so-called Key Decision Point-C: only then can the design be implemented. Nevertheless, means the approval of the design that the realization of the new launcher is an important step closer.

The Nasa is shy to private transport to bring. Space capsules and other equipment space With the retirement of the Space Shuttle fleet, the organization is dependent on third parties, such as Soyuz rockets. It plans to use his new Nasa rocket to ‘deep space’ reach, such as missions to Mars and asteroids. To this end, the developing Nasa Orion-capsule, which is to be launched. By the SLS-missile

The SLS was the most powerful missile launcher to be so far. Initially, the 98 meter high rocket able to carry, 70 tons but a further developed version, can carry 130 tons. In comparison, the Ariane 5 rocket from the European Space Agency can carry 20 tons. The outstanding development of SpaceX Falcon Heavy to 53 tons to wear and the Space Shuttles could take just over 24 tons.

The first flights of the SLS rocket with the Orion capsule should go find while manned flights are planned for 2021. Place in 2017 By 2025, astronauts can be transported by the rocket to an asteroid and a decade later should be. Traveled to Mars


In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18475 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]