Netflix expects majority encrypted streams to deliver the end of 2016




Netflix expects to end this year most of the streaming session is via https. The company started last year with the preparation of its network for the encryption in order to protect the privacy of customers.

Netflix is ​​currently working to adapt its client software for https streams. Eventually, all the devices on which Netflix is ​​to receive, and are able to receive upgrades, received the encrypted video. End of this year must be the case for the majority of the sessions. Netflix expresses this expectation in a white paper called Improving High-Bandwidth TLS in the FreeBSD kernel.

The video supplier to fit their own words https encryption allow to ensure that customers are protected against eavesdropping by anyone who wants to monitor their viewing. The company must adapt its infrastructure to the overhead associated with it.

Netflix finally chose to use AES in Galois / Counter Mode instead of Cipher Block Chaining because the latter method would require additional computing power. Intel cpus of the Open Connect Appliances used Netflix for storing and serving video content support AES-NI instruction set for accelerating the encryption.

The company succeeded in it the CPU usage and bandwidth to optimize through its own changes to Googles BoringSSL and Intel Intelligent Storage Acceleration Library, in conjunction with improvements in response and request time of HTTP clients by optimizing SendFile calls. The latter was realized in cooperation with Nginx. Open Connect Appliances Netflix its servers with Intel Xeon chips FreeBSD 10.2 and 1.9 running Nginx. In 2012, such a single OCA could still 8Gbit / s supply, but today it increased to 90Gbit / s.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21956 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]