Netgear presents Nighthawk X4 router with support for mu-mimo




Netgear has R7500 Nighthawk X4 officially announced, after the arrival of the high-end router leaked earlier. The 802.11ac router needs with support for quad stream wifi achieve high speeds, for, among other online gaming and streaming content.

The router can theoretically reach speeds of 1733Mbit / s on the 5GHz frequency, composed of four 433Mbit / s connections, and 600Mbit / s at 2.4 GHz, consisting of three 200Mbit / s connections, for a total throughput of about 2,33Gbit / s. That rate is higher than many other wifi-ac-routers offer on paper, with support for multi-user multiple input multiple output, or mu-mimo. The Wave 2 technology Quantenna ensures that support mu-mimo.

The router also has a Qualcomm soc IPQ8064 with two Krait cores, both of which operate at 1.4 GHz. The performance of the router according to Anandtech comparing with that of the Asus RT-AC87 , which also Quantenna’s Wave 2 chipset, but there are some differences. Where X4 on the IPQ8064 Qualcomm processor features, the Asus runs on Broadcom BCM4709A. In addition, the X4 both an eSATA interface and two USB 3.0 ports, where the Asus with USB 2.0 and 3.0 port does.

Support for 4×4-mu-mimo should provide higher speeds and more stable wifi connections, but Netgear adds a feature to allow efficient operation. The router has a list of devices and apps that can arrange. Bandwidth allocation Apps and programs that use buffering, such as YouTube and Netflix, given a higher priority than apps and programs that require less bandwidth. Users can update the list itself, according to Anandtech.

Netgear R7500 Nighthawk X4 Netgear R7500 Nighthawk X4 Netgear R7500 Nighthawk X4

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18460 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]