Nikon stops production Nikon 1 system cameras




Nikon stops making the Nikon 1 series. The manufacturer, based in Tokyo, no longer makes the corresponding lenses and accessories for the mirrorless system cameras with 1 “sensor.

A list of the Nikon 1 versions that are no longer in production has been published on a Nikon website . Nikon has also confirmed the production stop in front of DPReview, without any specific reason being given. On the official website of Nikon the versions J5, V3 and AW 1 of the Nikon 1 are still displayed; these models are available for the time being.

The Nikon 1 series was introduced in September 2011 with the Nikon 1 J1 and the Nikon 1 V1. After that, another eleven new variants were released and a total of twelve different lenses. The Nikon 1 is a series of relatively compact, mirrorless system cameras with a one-inch sensor. The last camera released in the series is the Nikon 1 J5 ; it dates back to 2015 and has a sensor with a resolution of 20.8 megapixels and a flip-up LCD.

The fact that Nikon stops producing the Nikon 1 cameras may be partly linked to the recent rumors that the manufacturer will announce two new mirrorless cameras with a full frame sensor at the end of this month. If these devices are actually introduced, there is a chance that at least one of these models will compete with Sony’s A7 series with full frame sensors. A senior Nikon executive said last year that fullframe is the trend and that if Nikon deployment on mirrorless cameras, a full frame sensor should be chosen .

Previously, Nikon said in an interview that this year no new mirrorless camera with interchangeable lenses is released. In July 2017, Nikon had already hinted at working on ‘ mirrorless products ‘.

Nikon 1 J5


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23646 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]