Obama wants FCC strict rules to ensure net neutrality




US President Barack Obama urges regulator to FCC to impose strict rules providers that guarantee net neutrality. FCC Internet According to Obama therefore labeled as an essential service and associated regulations.

According to the president is free Internet access on the basis of net neutrality is essential for citizens and fair competition in business. Providers should not therefore determine what services a user has access or not. Would ISPs may also penalize any company, for example by allowing large companies to pay for faster access.

Obama believes that the FCC should establish strict rules to providers to enforce net neutrality. There must be a ban would come at the throttling certain Internet services providers while also prioritizing fee to certain companies would no longer be allowed. Must all continue to be prohibited from blocking services and providers would have to inform consumers in detail about their policies for the transmission of Internet traffic.

Mobile providers According to the president also adhere to the principles of net neutrality. ISPs should therefore, according to the president under the same regime as other “essential” services, such as telecommunications.

The FCC is working to establish new rules around net neutrality. Providers who saw nothing in the stricter rules challenged an earlier decision by the regulator successfully. A recently leaked proposal from the FCC, according to proponents of net neutrality too weak. Providers would be faster ‘lanes’ So may still offer a fee to companies. Should the FCC rules significantly tighten anyway, it’s a Republican majority in both chambers whether these continue long.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19045 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]