Organizations like UN treaty prohibiting the development of killer robots’




Human Rights Watch and the Harvard Law School urge the United Nations to draw up a treaty in which the development of fully autonomous weapons, also called ‘killer robots’, is prohibited.

According to the authors of the report ‘Mind the Gap’ currently servicemen, programmers and companies not liable under current law for killing people by autonomously operating weapons. They also think it is unlikely that there is such legislation in the future prepared by countries. Human Rights Watch and the Harvard Law School wish therefore that there is a binding UN treaty in which the development of autonomous weapons systems is expressly prohibited. The production and the use of such weapons should be curbed.

The organizations recognize that there is currently no ‘killer robots’ existence, but that all weaponry on the market is that it comes close to close. As an example they cite the Israeli Iron Dome missile defense and US Phalanx- and C-RAM weapon. This defensive systems can take action automatically when a threat is detected. Also, reference is made to military drones increasingly perform certain tasks autonomously, such as performing intercontinental flights or the independent countries on an aircraft carrier.

The report of the organizations was published on the eve of a UN conference on conventional weapons. There, among others, on additions to a UN treaty banning the use of certain weapons such as cluster bombs and blinding laser weapons. In 2009, advocated a number of researchers even for laying military robots restricted.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23646 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]