Roadmap new MediaTek chipsets is online




The chip maker MediaTek roadmap for the next six months is made public. The most notable soc on the roadmap is the MT6592, which features a octacore-CPU with a clock frequency of 2Ghz and SGX6xx GPU. This appears soc end of this year.

MediaTek logo In the roadmap standing next to new socs some socs already released, including the MT6589, which is already under back in the Acer Liquid zopo E2 and C2. That soc features a quad-core CPU running at 1.2 Ghz and a SGX544 GPU. MediaTek-socs are increasingly in mobile devices. These are especially cheaper models, derived from Chinese brands. All the SOCS which stand on the road map are based on the architecture and Cortex-A7 are baked at 28nm.

The MT6582 and MT6572 are both aimed at the budget segment, with the former having a 1.3 GHz quad-core CPU and the second has a dual-core CPU running at 1Ghz. Both socs have a somewhat outdated mali400 GPU onboard. The MT6572 is available for manufacturers, since June, but has not yet appeared in a ‘known’ device in the Netherlands, and the MT6582 should appear somewhere in the third quarter.

Socs intended for the higher segments, the MT6588 and MT6592, get a SGX6xx PowerVR GPU and differ from each other by using different CPUs. Thus, the MT6588 features a quad-core CPU with a clock speed of 1.7 GHz and a octacore-MT6592 CPU running at 2Ghz. Moreover, the high-end SOCs made with high-k metal gates.

Unlike Samsung’s octacores would the MT6592, all eight cores to work, though it is not likely that a smartphone all eight cores can charge under normal use. while simultaneously A CEO of Qualcomm said octacores in smartphones recently ‘silliness’.

Tags: , , , , ,

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18427 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]