Samsung has announced the launch of the industry’s first 14-nm processors Exynos Octa 7




Samsung today officially announced the start of mass production of the industry’s first single-chip platforms, produced by 14-nm technology FinFET. This is a significant step forward compared to the 20-nm technology, which is used in the production of the current generation of processors Exynos 7.


As you know, Galaxy S6 should get SoC Exynos 7420. There is no doubt that it was for him, and there is a speech in the press release Samsung, although the name of the platform itself may be different.

According to an official press release, the Exynos processor 7 Octa, which includes eight cores, thanks to the introduction of 14-nm process 3D FinFET is characterized by an increase of 20% the speed of operation, reduced energy consumption by 35% and a 30 percent performance gain. Other features of the new chip is not yet disclosed.

It is worth noting that the first 20-nanometer solutions Samsung Exynos 5430 appeared only in August last year and now the company now starts mass production of 14-nanometer SoC. The closest competitors are just starting to develop 20-nanometer rules for its mobile systems, which gives a certain Korean manufacturer odds. However, the technology provides the only opportunity. And how they are implemented, we will be able to know with the new flagship of Samsung.

The first product based on Exynos Octa will be 7 Samsung Galaxy S6, which debuts in Barcelona on March 1, the day before the official opening of the international exhibition MWC.

Join us at Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.


Tags: , , , ,

In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19137 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]