Samsung has updated “eight-core” processor Exynos 5 Octa




The South Korean company Samsung has officially unveiled the updated system-on-chip Exynos 5 Octa . She received the code name Exynos 5420.

The processor of the new SoC is still represented by two clusters, which is located on the four processing cores ARM Cortex-A15 (1.8 GHz) and Cortex-A7 (1,3 GHz), connected to each other due to the architecture big.LITTLE. According to Samsung, the new SoC power consumption by optimizing the model performs better than Exynos 5410 by 20 percent.

In contrast to the processor part, changes in which can be called a beauty, was subject to substantial revision graphics subsystem. Graphic system is GPU ARM Mali T628 MP6, which is two times faster graphics core that is applied to the SoC Exynos 5410.

It is also reported that the new member of the family Exynos can perform general-purpose computing (GPGPU). In the configuration of the SoC Exynos 5420 also includes a dual-channel memory controller LPDDR3. Memory bandwidth is 14.9 Gb / s. The graphics core ARM Mali T628 MP6-in support for OpenGL ES 3.0 and OpenCL 1.1 Full Profile.

Mass production of Samsung Exynos SoC 5420 is scheduled for August of this year, so she has all chances to become the “heart” of the flagship smartphone Samsung Galaxy Note 3 .
Back # photo of the day | Earth on a background of Saturn’s rings
Next Lumia 625 official: Nokia introduced the most affordable LTE-smartphone
Tags: Exynos 5 Octa , Samsung , SoC .

Tags: , , ,

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18418 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »