Seagate announces a 12-terabyte HDD HDD




Seagate announced on Monday the launch of new storage capacities of up to 12 Terabaita, targeting both the consumer and business sectors.

“The IronWolf, IronWolf Pro and BarraCuda Pro hard drives are now available in capacities up to 12 terabitas,” the US storage solutions company said in a statement .

Seagate pointed out that the world is witnessing a huge increase in the volume of data being created, so that a recent study conducted by the market and market research company “IDC” IDC expected that the volume of data in 2025 to about 163 Zetaabita, which More than ten times the current data.

“Seagate’s latest 12-terabyte portfolio of storage drives is designed to meet today’s media storage needs – including enhanced reality, virtual reality, 4K and 360-degree 360-degree HD video, and the possibility of future expansion with increased space and speed” .

The BarraCuda Pro tablets are designed for desktops, and according to Seagate, they are the fastest and most high-capacity storage drives available on the market today. The IronWolf and IronWolf Pro storage drives are for networked storage systems used by creative professionals, companies and file sharing services.

Without mentioning the price, Seagate said it began shipping 12 terabyte hard drives to its customers around the world.

Seagate unveiled itself in August 2016, unveiling the new SAS SSD, which offers 60 terabytes of storage capacity, the world’s largest SSDs .

The new Seagate announcement comes just days after its rival, Western Digital, announced the launch of a 14-terabyte HDD for desktop PCs targeting the business sector.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19071 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]