Seagate introduces PCIe-SSD with speed of 10GB / s and shows 60TB-ssd




Seagate introduces the Nytro XP7200, a PCIe plug-in which includes four nvme-SSDs with m2 terminal. The card must transfer rates of 10GB / s possible. The manufacturer shows a 3.5 “-ssd with a storage capacity of 60TB.

The advent of a PCIe-SSD with speed of 10GB / s was already announced in March by Seagate. The manufacturer now has the Flash Memory Summit conference the actual product announced . It concerns the Nytro XP7200, a PCIe plug-in card, which is equipped with four-m2 SSD’s. In order to achieve the speed of 10Gb / s, four of the newly be announced XM1440-m2-nvme modules used with a capacity of 1920GB per piece. The total storage space is thus at such 7,7TB. There will also be a version with a capacity of 3,8TB, which uses four 960GB SSDs.

To achieve the claimed speeds must be used nvme-four SSDs in a RAID 0 set up using software. According to Seagate has the Nytro XP7200 than a sequential read speed of 10GB / s and a sequential write speed of 3,6GB / s. At random read operations that 940,000 IOPS and 160,000 IOPS for writes. The first samples will be sent in September and the card should be on the market in the fourth quarter.

Further, Seagate shows at the conference a SAS SSD in 3.5 “format with a capacity of 60TB. The SSD uses 3D TLC-NAND from Micron and a single controller. The sequential read and write speeds, according to the manufacturer 1500 and 1000MB / s. Random read is 150,000 iOPS, according to Seagate. Information about random writes is not disclosed. Seagate has given 60TB-sSD no product name yet and currently it is of what is possible just a demonstration.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21956 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]