Sony gives developers access to core seventh PlayStation 4 CPU




Sony has given developers access to the core of the seventh PlayStation 4 CPU. Previously reserved along with the eighth and final core operating system of the console. Possibly the core still be partly responsible for other functions.

Sony has not officially announced the news, but it turned out the patch notes for an update FMOD. That is the middleware that takes the audio to his account in the SDK of the PS4. Include a user NeoGAF was the rule in the notes on. It is “Added FMOD_THREAD_CORE6 to allow access to the newly unlocked 7th core” reading, which leaves little room for interpretation. Sources of Eurogamer confirm the change, but remain anonymous because a nda goes for the sdk.

This does not mean that PlayStation 4 games already on the market now will use core number 7 and there performance gain will check out. Game developers should be used in their software code or specifically write that the core and in what way. Games already on the market, may well benefit from the core as developers decide through an update to put in the extra core.

Although the seventh core is now available for game makers is not yet certain whether the core at any time at their disposal. It may be the case that the seventh core is still responsible for the secondary functions of the console, such as for example the making of a screenshot. In this case, the use of such a feature therefore have an impact on the performance in a game. According to the sources of Euro Gamer this is possible indeed the case.

The Xbox One console from Microsoft in January this year the same done. There was also paved the seventh of the eight cores for developers, but there also remains the case that the operating system can claim the power of the processor, for example to process voice commands. Developers get to the xbox one up 80% of the CPU time of that core.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19961 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]