Sony introduced a 21-megapixel photo sensor c support 4K-video for the new iPhone and iPad




Sony announced the image sensor Exmor RS IMX230, designed for smartphones, tablets and other mobile devices. Photo module, which provides a resolution of 21 million effective pixels, can be used in the next generation iPhone and iPad.


Optical format sensor – 1 / 2.4 inches, the size of a point is equal to 1.12 micrometer. Type CMOS sensor has a multilayer arrangement, which reduced its size. Apple, as you know, trying to minimize the size of smartphones and tablets, and hence the components they need to be more compact.

According to the manufacturer, Sony Exmor RS IMX230 – the industry’s first mobile CMOS-sensor is equipped with a built-in signal processing phase focusing coming from the pixels in the image plane, and up to a maximum of 192 points. It provides high quality images when shooting action scenes – for example, sports or animals in their natural habitat.

Another advantage of the sensor is to support HDR, including when shooting video, allowing to cope with high-contrast scenes. In addition, the sensor supports video capture 4K. At maximum resolution the frame rate is 24 frames per second. You can record video in formats 4K (4096 × 2160), 1080p and 720p with frequency, respectively 30, 60 and 120 frames per second.


The new 21-megapixel CMOS-sensor Sony will be available for portable devices in April 2015. This means, iPhone next generation, which is expected to debut in the fall, will be able to do even more high-quality images and videos.

Join us at Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18476 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]