Standard for wireless charging Organizations join forces




The Alliance for Wireless Power and the Power Matters Alliance have agreed to make their standard induction and magnetic resonance wireless charging compatible. The known standard Qi has thus been given a single competitor.

In the field of wireless charging competed so far three standard organizations to market: the Wireless Power Consortium with the Qi standard, the PMA and the A4WP. The last two are now each other’s technology support . The standards are based on other techniques. The A4WP technology uses magnetic resonance, which devices do not have to make wireless charging and at the same time to load. Different devices with different energy needs direct contact

PMA is focused on the development of induction, wherein the device to charge should be. Placed on a specific spot on the loading surface Qi also uses induction and this standard has so far know most smartphonefabrtikanten over the line to draw. Include HTC, Samsung, LG and Nokia made devices with Qi support.

Samsung, HTC and LG have since, however, supported the Power Matters Alliance, as well as other big names, including Blackberry, Texas Instruments, Google and Facebook. Starbucks also and the provider of wireless charging stations Power Kiss supports PMA. A4WP is supported by include Intel, Samsung, Qualcomm and Broadcom.

PMA promises in the further development of the standard A4WP’s Rezence specification for both transmitter and receiver and implement. Both single and multiple configurations In turn A4WP provides manufacturers with an option to the multi-mode inductance adding to implementations of the standard magnetic resonance.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [20325 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]