Synology NAS systems brings DS715 and DS215 + on the market




Synology has launched two new NAS systems. It is the DS715 and the DS215 +. The former is the most high-end and supports up to seven drives. Both devices are available immediately.

The DS715 will retail with almost 400 euros including VAT. Therefore the buyer gets a Synology NAS which is under “scalable”. Standard fit two hard drives in the enclosure, but that number can be increased to seven by linking to a DX513 expansion module. The housing is an Alpine AL-314 quad-soc with clock speed of 1.4 GHz embedded doing its work in collaboration with 2GB ram. Data can be read with 216Mbyte / s and written with 142Mbyte / s.

Support is built in for Synology High Availability, a system that allows a form of redundancy can be set up with multiple NAS systems in a cluster. For this to work, there is an active and need a passive server, the selected hardware must be equivalent. This functionality is primarily intended for use in a business environment.

For a retail price of approximately 333 euros, the DS215 + comes on the market, as the successor of the DS214 +. This nas has to do with a dual-core variant of the Alpine soc. In addition to two hard drive bays and two Ethernet ports, two times a USB 3.0 and an eSATA port and present data can be read and written, respectively 209Mbyte / s and 139Mbyte / s. Incidentally, the DS715 has the same connectivity options. Both systems run on DiskStation Manager software Synology.

According to Synology, the two new NAS systems available worldwide immediately. The systems are also to be found in Dutch stores. Earlier, the DS715 and DS215 + have already been shown at the Cebit trade show.


Tags: , , , , , , ,

In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19029 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]