Tech industry wants to work together iot standards




Qualcomm, Microsoft, Samsung, Intel and other tech companies have joined a newly established foundation that strives to make the Internet-of-things-standard interoperable. They strive for an open iot ecosystem.

The foundation called the Open Connectivity Foundation and the goal is that specifications, protocols, open source projects, sensors and devices in the field of internet-of-things, regardless of manufacturer, can work together. The foundation is working on a specification and an open source project which it should allow.

Include Arris, CableLabs, Cisco, Electrolux, GE Digital, Intel, Microsoft, Qualcomm and Samsung have supported the initiative, but the list of members is much longer . The entire Open Interconnect Consortium, which was in 2014 founded , merged into the foundation. That consortium consisted of Cisco, Samsung and Intel. The latter calls it a step closer to seamless connectivity. The OIC projects include the open source project Iotivity in collaboration with The Linux Foundation and this project is now playing an important role in the new Open Connectivity foundation.

In addition, there AllSeen Alliance, consisting of Microsoft, Qualcomm, LG and Sony, working on the AllJoyn platform which also The Linux Foundation oversees the source code. Part of that alliance now also expressed its support to the Open Connectivity Foundation, or OCF. AllSeen the Alliance will continue to exist, and Microsoft promises for example, that the standard of the OCF is compatible with Windows 10 devices “are designed for AllSeen.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21515 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]