[Tips and Tricks] Change the notification sound in OS X




[Tips and Tricks] Change the notification sound in OS X

Tips and tricks

“Notification Center” appeared on our Mac with the release of OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion . Frankly, the demand for such innovations in OS X still remains unclear. But one thing is for sure: they use much less than the “Notification Center” for iOS-devices. Perhaps even at times. Nevertheless, forget about notifications on OS X is not worth it, especially because they can be configured. For example, just a few minutes you can change the notification sound to one that you’ll be pleased by making your Mac even more unique.

So first of all we need a music file format. Aiff. Convert the file into a format as possible using standard tools in OS X, and using many third-party applications, which easily can be found in the Mac App Store. Most of them, by the way, is available for free.

Once the file is prepared, you need to open the Finder and using the command cmd + shift + G, open a window, through which, by typing the address, you can navigate to the desired folder. We are interested in a folder with system sounds, so we enter in the dialog box the following address (no dot at the end): ~ / Library / Sounds /. In the opened folder, drag the file prepared in advance. Then you need to rename it to Basso.aiff.

In order for changes to take effect, you must restart the “Notification Center”. To do this, open the “Terminal” and enter there the following command:

killall NotificationCenter

Now, with the appearance in the top right corner of the new notification, you will hear the sound you have prepared. If you get tired of it, it can be replaced in a similar manner.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19094 Red Star Level]

Comments are closed.

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]