Toshiba introduces EMMC 5.1 and 2.1 ufs memory modules




Toshiba Announces New Embedded EMMC 5.1 and 2.1 ufs memory modules with capacities from 16 to 128GB. The modules utilize Toshiba’s 15nm-MLC-NAND memory and can be used by manufacturers in devices like smartphones.

According to Toshiba, the EMMC modules based on the 5.1 specification standard organization Jedec and meet the ufs storage modules to the 2.1 specification. Toshiba delivers the ufs modules with capacities from 32 to 128GB. The maximum sequential read and write speed is 850 and 180MB / s, an improvement of 40 and 16 percent respectively, according to the manufacturer with respect to its previous modules. When it comes to random reads and writes, the performance would be 120 and 80 percent are better.

Toshiba provides the EMMC memory, which uses a parallel interface in capacities from 16 to 128GB. The sequential read speed is up to 320MB / s, while writing 180MB / s is possible. According to Toshiba that an improvement of 20 percent compared to the previous generation. The performance at random reading and writing have improved by 100 and 140 percent, the manufacturer claims.

Embedded memory modules are not only used in smartphones, but also tablets and some laptops. Besides nand memory modules contain an integrated controller that processes such as bad block management, error correction, wear leveling and garbage collection handles.

Samsung announced earlier this year, UFS 2.0 memory modules, which read and write speeds up to 850 and 320MB / s possible. SK Hynix also makes ufs memory modules. Almost all smart phone manufacturers use ufs modules in their high-end smartphones. Apple solder loose memory chips on the motherboards of its iPhones and uses a separate memory controller.

Toshiba EMMC and ufs


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [22655 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]