Update for Vive Focus adds ability to read smartphone notifications




HTC has released an update for the Vive Focus on Friday, which makes it possible to view notifications from a paired HTC phone and activate the cameras to see the outside world. The vr headset is not yet available outside of China.

The Taiwanese company announced the update during the annual Vive Ecosystem Conference in Shenzen. The notification function only works with paired HTC smartphones, with the new U12 + being the first model that supports it, writes Engadget .

Another new feature is the so-called Surroundings Mode, in which the cameras of the headset are turned on and users can look through the headset, as it were. The function can be activated by pressing the power button twice.

To prevent the VR headset from causing problems when the user is in a vehicle such as a bus or plane, HTC has developed the Passenger Mode. This feature turns off some sensors and lowers the freedom of movement from 6DoF to 3DoF, but ensures that users do not shift from their place in the virtual world. The function also extends the battery time by one hour.

HTC has also added an opportunity to stream VR content from Steam or Viveport to the Vive Focus over a 5GHz Wi-Fi network. In addition, with the update it is possible to install applications on a micro SD card and thus expand the storage capacity of the headset.

The System Update 2.0 can be downloaded immediately for the Vive Focus. The vr headset itself is only available within China, however, and will only be released in other countries later this year . Around that time the company will also release the next update, which adds extra functions such as hand tracking with the cameras and mirroring of the headset to a television.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [22121 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]