US government accuses North Korea of ​​cyber attacks




The US government on Tuesday issued a rare ultimatum on the activities of the so-called “hidden cobra” piracy group, saying the group was part of the North Korean government and there was a possibility of more attacks, which North Korea routinely denied. In its involvement in cyber attacks against other countries.

The joint warning from the US Department of Homeland Security and the US Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) pointed out that the cyber actors in the North Korean government have targeted the vital media, space, finance and infrastructure sectors in the United States and the world.

The Government of the United States of America warned that the “hidden cobra” piracy group had damaged a number of victims since 2009, that some intrusions had led to data theft, while others had been subversive.

The group’s capabilities include the ability to implement denial of service attacks known as DDos, which send unwanted traffic packets to servers to force it to stop responding, keyloggers, remote access tools, and many different types of malware.

According to the warning, the “hidden cobra” piracy group usually targets systems that run older versions of Microsoft’s operating systems that no longer have security patches. Western officials and cyber security experts have pointed out that piracy in North Korea has grown Increasingly in recent years.

Last month, Symantec Corp. announced it was “very likely” that the North Korean piracy group, the Lazarus Group, was behind the WannaCry attack, which infected more than 300,000 computers worldwide, Disruption of operations in hospitals, banks and schools.

According to the warning issued on Tuesday, the cyber attacks launched by the covert covert group called Cobra were previously referred to as belonging to the Lazarus group and peacekeepers by private experts. These groups were linked to attacks such as the 2014 attack on Sony For entertainment.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [21338 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]