VESA announced the DisplayPort 1.4a standard with support for 8K-displays




Interbranch organization of Video Electronics Standards Association (VESA) has announced a new standard Embedded DisplayPort (eDP) 1.4a, which replaces the version eDP v1.4. This development provides support for displays with a resolution of 8K.


EDP ​​1.4a standard fixed higher speed video data transmission, thus increasing the color depth, resolution and refresh rate. The basis for it is the VESA DisplayPort (DP) v1.3, published in September 2014 . In particular, the speed HBR3, equal to 8.1 Gbit / s per line, now defined in eDP v1.4a. Thanks HBR3 and DSC v1.1, a new standard recessed panel eDP support resolutions up to 8K. Furthermore, it helps to simplify the structure and reduce the size.

New part eDP v1.4a is Multi-SST Operation or MSO. The name given to support the new architecture of the display, which calls VESA Segmented Panel Display.

Using architecture Segmented Panel Display, allegedly would make the panel thinner, lighter, cheaper and reduce their energy consumption. MSO allows you to allocate four high-speed data lines eDP between two or four independent segments of the panel. Lower resolution screens may thus have only two segments. Segmentation allows the panels to increase the degree of integration, since each segment may have its own timing controller driver integrated circuits.


In addition, several eDP 1.4a Improved functions Panel Self Refresh (PSR), which appeared in eDP 1.4. This function enables GPU update only the portion of the display image which has changed since the last update, thereby further reduced power consumption.

In the finished product support eDP 1.4a is expected in 2016.

Join us at Twitter , VKontakte , Facebook , Google+ or via RSS , to keep abreast of the latest news from the world of Apple, Microsoft and Google.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18455 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]