Video Specifications 4K Blu-ray discs come online




The specifications for the upcoming 4K Blu-ray disc have come online. Titles are according to the new standard shown at a resolution of 3840×2160 pixels, standard hevc compression is applied. In addition, the rec2020 color space is used.

Blu-ray logo The probable specification of the new standard are published on the Japanese site AV Watch. Are in a table, two new 16: 9 profiles described in which the hevc codec is used: the famous 1920×1080 resolution and 4k resolution that has 3840×2160 pixels. The maximum bit rate thereby increases from 40Mbit to 100Mbit while still use is made ​​of 4: 2: 0 color sampling sub frame rates are allowed to 23.976, 24, 25, 50, 59,94 and 60 frames per second..

Not only the resolution is improved with the new Blu-ray standard, also addressed the quality. For example, in addition to the conventional color space REC709 also the rec2020-standard are used, which makes multi-color information can be stored. However, it will still take some time before manufacturers can make maximum use of it, because current televisions are not yet able to display all the colors from the color space rec2020 again.

The new Blu-ray standard should provide further support for high dynamic range -beelden, a technique which currently use almost all TV manufacturers. HDR allows the dynamic range of the image is enlarged, so that for example highlights brighter display. This additional information can also be stored as the new blu-ray spec boosts the color depth of 8 to 10bits.

The new Blu-ray standard is set by the Blu Ray Disc Association. Expected to be the first players to 4K images to play later this year on the market. During CES in early January showed a prototype of such a Panasonic player.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [19073 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]