WD stops Green-name of hard disk drives




WD stops WD Green series of drives and is limited with its naming scheme to Blue and Black. Until the end of November continue the Green HDD’s in the EZRX series still available as such, then they go on in the Blue Series.

The reason behind the disappearance of Green is according to WD-sales manager at Barber Brinkman ‘changes in the market. ” By this he means the shift to SSDs and the decrease in the number of HDD’s which decrease consumers and OEMs. “That’s why WD has decided to minimize the colors for PC disks to Blue and Black”, he reports to Tweakers. The Red series for NAS systems thus continues to exist.

It involves a change of name. The models currently covered in the Green series, become part of Blue. Next week, WD promises more here about to be published in October by launching a campaign to publicize the new naming.

The 3.5 “line of WD Blue comes after the transition with type two numbers: one for the line with rotation speed of 5400rpm, with storage capacities from 500GB up to 6TB the 7200rpm drives WB Blue 3.5.” Line come out with a different type, with storage capacities of 500GB and 1TB.

The same applies to the 2.5 “drives in the Blue Series. The line will consist of 5400 models with storage capacities of 1TB, 1.5 TB, 2TB and 3TB and in addition there will be a line that rotates at 7200rpm and storage capacities provides 250GB to 1TB. The sshd with large flash cache already covered by Blue.

The Green Series is WD’s quiet and economical series. The manufacturer’s name IntelliPower uses which should indicate a claimed variable rotation speed of somewhere between 5400rpm and 5900rpm, but several reviews like that of SilentPC showed that the rate stood at just 5400rpm.

In: Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [18458 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]