Wi-Fi Alliance calls 802.11ax standard Wi-Fi 6




The Wi-Fi Alliance introduces naming for Wi-Fi standards. The newest IEEE 802.11ax standard goes through Wi-Fi 6, 802.11ac and 802.11n are named Wi-Fi 5 and 4. There are also icons in software.

The Wi-Fi Alliance introduces the naming system to make it easier for users to distinguish various wifi standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. With the numbers it is easier to see which standard is the newest and therefore the fastest. The intention is that both device makers and software will use the naming.

The organization also makes available icons that hardware makers can paste onto their devices and that software makers can use in their interface. In this way, operating systems should indicate which type of network a device is connected to.

From next year, the Wi-Fi Alliance will adjust its certification program with the new naming. Future new releases of the 802.11 standard will also receive a sequential number. When the new naming in operating systems will be visible, it is not yet clear.


In: A Technology & Gadgets Asked By: [23646 Red Star Level]

Answer this Question

You must be Logged In to post an Answer.

Not a member yet? Sign Up Now »

Star Points Scale

Earn points for Asking and Answering Questions!

Grey Sta Levelr [1 - 25 Grey Star Level]
Green Star Level [26 - 50 Green Star Level]
Blue Star Level [51 - 500 Blue Star Level]
Orange Star Level [501 - 5000 Orange Star Level]
Red Star Level [5001 - 25000 Red Star Level]
Black Star Level [25001+ Black Star Level]